Trader Joe’s Charles Shaw – Shiraz

The Shiraz might be the best two-buck-chuck varietal I’ve had yet. I didn’t like the Charles Shaw Chardonnay, and the other two I’ve tried (Cabernet Sauvignon and Nouveau) were tolerable, but had sharp grassy tones which I wasn’t a fan of. I still have to try the Merlot, Pinot Grigio and Sauvingon Blanc.

This Shiraz is rounder, medium-bodied, and not as watery and sharp as the other ones I’ve tried. It’s pleasant, and more than the others, actually pretty enjoyable. Maybe it’s because the variety is naturally bold and tannic, so that the flavor comes through even in cheaply made wine. In any case, it has a warm, easy taste: exactly what I want in a cheap wine.

2 thoughts on “Trader Joe’s Charles Shaw – Shiraz

  1. Pingback: Trader Joe’s Charles Shaw – Nouveau « Distilled Opinion

  2. Pingback: Trader Joe’s Charles Shaw Merlot « Distilled Opinion

Leave a Reply

