Who is Toppling Goliath Brewing Company?

I was reading Aleheads.com today and it had a feature titled “The Best Beer by State.” Of course I checked out Iowa and found that something called Golden Nugget IPA from Toppling Goliath Brewing Company made the cut as the number one beer. I was surprised since there are some really nice beers brewed in Iowa that I’ve actually heard of and tasted. Beers from Peacetree and Millstream make some of my favorites. I checked several other beer websites and found that the beer is highly regarded on numerous beer websites. I did some research and it turns out that Toppling Goliath comes from Decorah, Iowa. Now, I’ve been to Decorah quite a few times lately and I’ve never seen nor heard of these fellas. So, this will give me something to do when I get through there. But maybe you and I don’t have to wait to find out. It appears that their beer is available on tap at both Zombie Burger and El Bait Shop. Also, they will be at the Brewfest 2012 on July 14th at Principal Park. I also see from their webpage that they are breaking ground for what they claim will make them the largest brewery in Iowa. They also purchased bottling equipment, so I assume that with this sort of output that they will be looking to sell their beer in the usual retail channels. If they make good beer, then more power to them.

2 thoughts on “Who is Toppling Goliath Brewing Company?

  1. Can’t wait for you to try our Golden Nugget and other fun varieties! See you at the Brewfest this weekend!

    Cheers!

    Madison (Toppling Goliath Brewing Co.)

  2. I’ve sampled quite a few of these brews at El Bait Shop and I have to say it is top-notch stuff.

    Another great brewery in Iowa is a very good thing.

Leave a Reply

