Santa Ema 2007 60/40 Barrel Select

Photo of Wine and Wineglass

Santa Ema 2007 60/40

This is a $10 Chilean 60/40 blend of Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot.  It is a better wine than many I’ve tried. I don’t pretend to have a sophisticated nose when it comes to wine.  But I know what I don’t like. This particular wine was prepared in what seems to be a workmanlike manner. It has some fruit, but not too much, it is not sweet, it has some oak, and tannins and, at first, a dash of alcohol on the finish. That dissipated as the wine got some air. Over the next several minutes the wine got fruitier and the tannins increased. I think that it might take some experimentation to find out exactly how long to let this aerate, but I think that it probably has a very nice sweet spot.  I know that some reviews of this wine complain about a Chilean “bell pepper” taste, but I have no idea what that means. i certainly didn’t taste anything remotely like bell peppers.  For a $10 bottle of wine it did the job and avoided any real problems.

Leave a Reply

