2006 Clos du Bois North Coast Pinot Noir

2006 Clos du Bois North Coast Pinot Noir

2006 Clos du Bois North Coast Pinot Noir

The 2006 Clos du Bois North Coast Pinot Noir is now showing its age and is not quite as good a wine as the very different 2008 Clos du Bois reviewed back in November. It is interesting to compare the two different vintages. I was so impressed with the 2008 that I’ve gone back several times to stock up on more. That is what I thought I was doing the other day when I spotted the familiar label at Ingersoll Wine and Spirits, but, alas, I had grabbed a bunch of 2006 bottles. Well, what’s the harm? It will be just as good, right? Nope. It is a very different wine. Some readers may actually like the more mature complexity of the 2006 over the youthful and fruity pop of the 2008. If there is one thing I’m a sucker for its a dry wine with lots of berry taste. To me that is the essence of wine. Too much oak and I might as well be sucking on a wooden spoon. Too much grape sweetness and I feel like I’m only missing the peanut butter. So, bring on the 2008 Clos du Bois. But the 2006 is a bit harder to peg as a wine. The first thing I noticed when pouring it out was that the wine had that brick-red or even red-brown cast. Gone is the garnet of the more recent vintage. Second, I struggled to find fruit or berries when tipping it back. It is there, but it just isn’t as strong. The wine has a definite oak taste that is well integrated in the tannins. I went back after the wine had aerated a bit and the berries are much more pronounced, which is a surprise. But oak and vanilla are also more pronounced as I worked down through the bottle. Some people may like that aspect, actually. Next, the alcohol was substantial with long, heavy legs and a definite alcohol taste and smell. Tannins were a bit more pronounced than the 2008, but I would not say that they were overpowering. The wine did have a bit more complexity to it than the fruity 2008 I’ve been drinking and I did keep drinking the wine, which is my best gauge as to whether I really like a wine. If you have some 2006 resting in the back of the cellar, I’d recommend drinking it now before it is too late. It may not get better with more age. Give the wine a bit of time to aerate before drinking.

Clos du Bois 2006 North Coast Pinot Noir

Flavor and nose: light berries steeped in medium tannins and pronounced oak

Aftertaste: Very mild berry finish, with oak, vanilla, and tannins.

Purchased at Ingersoll Wine and Spirits for about $16.

2 thoughts on “2006 Clos du Bois North Coast Pinot Noir

  1. Pingback: 2007 Clos du Bois North Coast Pinot Noir « Distilled Opinion

  2. Pingback: 2009 Clos du Bois North Coast Pinot Noir « Distilled Opinion

Leave a Reply

