2011 Oktoberfest in Omaha

I’ve attended the Crescent Moon Oktoberfest for a few years now, and I’ve always had a great time. It’s definitely a riotous party and often takes up my entire weekend. This year, however, I’m branching out and exploring several of the other fantastic Oktoberfests thrown by local bars and venues.

-First up this year was Gerda’s Oktoberfest (Sept. 10th & 11th). After several years of the hard-partying Crescent Moon, I really loved the relaxed and laid-back feel of Gerda’s. They don’t have as many people, or as many varieties of beer, but the atmosphere was wonderful. Finding a spot at the table and hearing your friends talk are two underrated virtues of the festival-going experience. Gerda’s is also the earliest Oktoberfest and the weather last weekend was perfect.

-This weekend (Sept 16th and 17th) is Omaha’s German American Society Oktoberfest. This, I’ve heard, is more of a family-friendly event, with face-paint, three different bands and a troupe of German folk dancers. I haven’t been there yet, but my friends assure me it has a style all its own. I’m stoked.

-Crescent Moon begins its Oktoberfest at 4:00 p.m. on September 23rd. I always look forward to this one. It’s the busiest and most exciting. I see so many old friends and people I know, it feels like I’m at a house party with Warsteiner keg-trailers. Dress warm though, it’s usually cold and rainy and the number of people that manage to squeeze inside the bar is probably a fire hazard.

4 thoughts on “2011 Oktoberfest in Omaha

  1. The eighth annual Des Moines’ Oktoberfest event September 23th and 24th in the heart of the Court District downtown. The event is held on the doorstep of the Hessen Haus – Des Moines’ only German restaurant and Bier Hall. Fourth Street will be closed South of Court Avenue on Friday and Saturday to accommodate the event which includes tented beer gardens, the region’s finest Polka bands, authentic German food, contests and more. Advanced, discount tickets will be sold for the first time this year and are available at Des Moines area Hy-Vee stores or online at http://www.tikly.co.Visit http://www.oktoberfestdsm.com for a schedule of events, updates and other details. To see photos of past Des Moines’ Oktoberfests, visit http://www.oktoberfestphotos.com

Leave a Reply

