Tacopocalypse Grand Opening

signTacopocalypse is now open for business in its own space.  I thought about trying to come up with a more snappy opening sentence, given Chef Auen’s ability to turn a phrase as well as a tortilla. I am also sure that all of the other bloggers rushing to get out their own Tacopocalypse review are going to use words like “Godlike,” “Deity,” and “Taco” and wrap them in sentences that would make any high school creative writing teacher cry like a baby.  So I’m just going to quit while I am ahead and give you the short skinny on a place that serves great tacos and other dishes with passion and flavor.

dining

Location. Yes, this is in the space vacated by one of my all-time favorite restaurants, Luna Bistro. 621 Des Moines Street, Des Moines. Nothing much has changed, including an exterior only a wrecking ball could love. But the important thing is that it is a great space inside for what it is. Who cares what it looks like on the outside?

front

Hours. It looks like Tacopocalypse will be open until 10:00 p.m. every day except Sunday. Hours change, so be sure to check the web page.

menu

Menu. The menu has expanded beyond tacos to include sandwiches, burritos, quesadillas, soups, nachos, and a variety of appetizers. Tacos are $3 for one, $5 for two (get two at least). Sandwiches are mostly $4 and the other bigger offerings are $8.

tacos

Food. I tried the lemongrass pork and Korean chicken tacos. My favorite was the Korean chicken taco. As with all Tacopocalypse tacos, they burst with sweet and sour flavors in a manner totally unlike your standard southwestern tacos. The meat didn’t quite have that fat-dripping goodness that I’ve had before, but it was close.  I also had the Chicken Bacon Ranch Burrito. I can’t describe how good this was. Words escape me. What can I say? Oh my God. I’ve got to try some more and soon. But I want to try everything else on the menu board, though not the opening day special, a Kimchi-laced burrito.

burrito

Popularity. There is no denying the fact that people love Tacopocalypse tacos. There was a soft opening in which bloggers and food writers were invited and were present during the opening on Friday. Plates were carefully arranged, notepads were filled with scribbles, and pictures were taken.

blogger copy_edited-1

I guess what makes Tacopocalypse more interesting is Chef Auen’s sheer physical presence, obvious charisma, crazy bicycle lifestyle, and his loyal coterie of alternative indie sidekicks.  The anti-corporate attitude can give us all hope.

sam

– D.O.

Leave a Reply

